Anthropology 203.1: Introduction to Cultural Anthropology Spring 2011

Announcements

This web page is for a

PAST SEMESTER

For current classes, see
SSU's Class web pages list

What's posted here?

So why come to lectures?


Schedule of readings, notes, slides, tests, and due dates

This schedule will change, so don't rely on a printed copy. Read the assignments before the class session. Scroll down for more. Most items are PDF (Adobe Acrobat) files and should open in a new window to view, save, or print. Move it aside or close it to see this one again. If the PDF files do not open, install the free Adobe Acrobat Reader or a less standard but faster alternative, the free PDF-XChange Viewer.

Click to go to the free Adobe Acrobat Reader download page Click to go to the free PDF-XChange Viewer download page

The slides are the Powerpoint presentations you see in class. They do not include all the information in the notes or readings. They should open in a new window. Navigate with PageUp/Down, Arrow Left/Right, Space/Backspace, Mouse clicks and scroll wheel, and Home/End to jump to the start or end of the presentation. Esc or close the window to quit. If your browser downloads the file, just double-click the file to open it. If your computer does not have Powerpoint, install the free Powerpoint viewer for Windows or Impress, part of the free OpenOffice for Macintosh.

User ID and Password: Due to copyright restrictions, many items require the class user ID and password. These are different from your Peoplesoft ID and password. If you can't recall them, email me.

Please be patient: Some files are large and may take a while to load.

  1. Tuesday, Feb. 1: Introduction to the course
  2. Thursday, Feb. 3: What is anthropology?
  3. Tuesday, Feb. 8: The concept of culture
  4. Thursday, Feb. 10: Culture shock and culture as meaning
  5. Tuesday, Feb. 15: Race and ethnicity
  6. Thursday, Feb. 17: Understanding and judging others
  1. Tuesday, Feb. 22: Anthropological methods: Ethnography
  2. Thursday, Feb. 24: Explaining culture: adaptation, meaning, system, function
  3. Tuesday, Mar. 1: Explaining culture: cultural materialism and culture as text
  4. Thursday, Mar. 3: Making a living: foraging
    • Notes (37 Kb)Slides (2.8 Mb)
    • Lee Chapter 4, Foraging for a living: pp. 37-58 (22 pgs)
    • Fernea Chapter 9: pp. 105-115 (11 pgs)

  5. Tuesday, Mar. 8: Making a living: agriculture and pastoralism
  6. Thursday, Mar. 10: Reciprocity and socially embedded economic relations
  7. Tuesday, Mar. 15: Catchup, review, exam preparation
    • Review the readings, notes, and slides so far, and bring questions!
    • Fernea Chapters 11-13: pp. 126-160 (35 pgs)

  8. Thursday, Mar. 17: Midterm exam
    • No additional reading

  9. Tuesday, Mar. 22: Social and economic hierarchies
    • Notes (34 Kb)Slides (975 Kb)
    • Lee Chapter 8, Conflict, Politics, and Exchange: pp. 109-123 (15 pgs)
    • Fernea Chapter 14: pp. 161-170 (10 pgs)

  10. Thursday, Mar. 24: An "exploitative" theory of social inequality: the Marxian model
  11. Tuesday, Mar. 29: Naturalizing inequality: social race, gender, and egalitarian societies
  1. Tuesday, Apr. 5: Constructing identity: self, group, rites of passage
  2. Thursday, Apr. 7: Constructing identity: gender
  3. Tuesday, Apr. 12: Family, kinship, and descent
  4. Thursday, Apr. 14: Forms of marriage, residence, and how they make sense
  1. Tuesday, Apr. 26: Catch-up
    • No new notes or slides... by this time we will probably need a class period to make up for falling behind
    • Fernea Chapters 18-20: pp. 216-266 (49 pgs)

  2. Thursday, Apr. 28: Language
  3. Tuesday, May 3: Language and thought
  1. Thursday, May 5 Sociolinguistics
  2. Tuesday, May 10: Religion, witchcraft, and magic
  3. Thursday, May 12: Religion, ritual, and creating and maintaining belief
  4. Tuesday, May 17: Globalization
  1. Thursday, May 19: Problems of globalization, catchup, last-minute business
    • Notes (20 Kb)Slides (503 Kb)
    • Lee Chapter 12, The Ju'/hoansi today: pp. 167-192 (26 pgs)
    • Review the readings, notes, and slides so far, and bring questions!
    • Remember to bring and turn in a printed copy of your interview with an immigrant paper.

Final exam week:


Handouts

Scroll down if you don't see what you need. Click on the Handout that you want. If you have been here before, press your browser's "reload" button to see the latest additions.


Links to sites related to this course

Interesting, often illustrated, from easy to challenging... check these out. Many of these make excellent study aids for preparing for tests. All are optional. If you have been here before, press your browser's "reload" button to see the latest additions.

...News, discoveries, and controversies

...Specific subjects covered in class

...Ethics in anthropology

...University policies

...Annoyed by lack of classes, fee increases, etc.?


Introduction to Cultural Anthropology by Bruce Owen
Anthropology 203.1, Sonoma State University, Spring 2011
Copyright (c) 2011, Bruce Owen. All rights reserved.
Please send comments on content and presentation to bruce.owen@sonoma.edu
URL of this document: http://bruceowen.com/introcultural/a203-1-11s.htm
Revised: 19 May 2011